What are the Google Business Profile user roles?

Google enables three different user roles for Business Profiles. Understand the difference between the Owner, Managers, and Site Manager roles.

In This Article:

dba-arrow-bullet-point The Owner user role

dba-arrow-bullet-point The Manager user role

dba-arrow-bullet-point The Site Manager user role

dba-arrow-bullet-point Summary chart of user roles

The Owner user role

Each Business Profile can have multiple owners but only one Primary owner

Primary owners and Owners:

  • Can add other users to share management of a profile
  • Have the same capabilities, except: 
    • Primary owner can’t remove themselves from a Business Profile until they transfer primary ownership to another user.

The Manager user role

  • Have most of the capabilities of an Owner, except for more sensitive functions
  • Can’t remove the Business Profile 
  • Can’t manage users

The Site Managers user role

  • Have most of the capabilities of a Manager.
  • Can only edit some business information. 
  • Can submit a request to upgrade their role. To submit a request, a Site manager must:
    1. Sign in to Google My Business.
    2. Submit the request to a Manager or Owner of a verified Business Profile.
      • Any owner can then approve or deny the request.

 

Summary chart of user roles

The chart below details the capabilities of each type of user.

Owner Manager Site manager
Add and remove users checkmark    
Remove Business Profiles checkmark    
Edit all URLs  checkmark checkmark  
Accept all Google updates checkmark checkmark  
Opt-in or out of Bookings checkmark checkmark  
Update certain location settings checkmark checkmark  
Manage Business Profile directly on Search and Maps checkmark checkmark  
Manage Google Ads account links checkmark checkmark  
Use Messaging checkmark checkmark  
Add custom group labels  checkmark checkmark  
Edit attributes checkmark checkmark checkmark
Edit food delivery link checkmark checkmark checkmark

Edit some main business info

checkmark checkmark checkmark
Edit phone number checkmark checkmark  
Edit services checkmark checkmark  
Create, manage, and publish posts checkmark checkmark checkmark
Add, delete, and edit cover photos and additional photos checkmark checkmark checkmark
Add, delete, and edit logos checkmark checkmark  
Add, delete, and edit product checkmark checkmark checkmark
Respond to reviews checkmark checkmark checkmark
Download insights checkmark checkmark checkmark
Respond to Q&A checkmark checkmark checkmark